Peanut Butter Banana Oat Smoothie

As a bit of a New Years’ treat I got myself one of these handy Blend Active bottle blenders from Breville. It was on offer for £20 in Asda and I thought why not? Since coming back from South America I missed being able to throw together healthy and satisfying smoothies at the touch of a button and this was just the remedy!

I must say I’ve had no problems with my Blend Active (other than a slight hiccup last weekend where I thought if broken it because I couldn’t get the blade out of the base unit!) This nifty little thing can handle ice and big chunky fruit if you’re too lazy to chop it up like I am. Just make sure you’re not in too much of a rush and screw all the bits together properly so you don’t have to worry about the physics of inverting your smoothie and possibly being covered in green goo. After scaring myself that it was beyond repair looking at google reviews, my housemate managed to fix it and all is well once more 🙂

20140218-220537.jpg

Usually I mix up a green smoothie (typically of spinach, celery, cucumber, peppers and whatever fruit I have, banana, berries, oranges, grapefruit etc) in the mornings but this evening I was feeling a bit experimental and made this creamy beauty! Peanut butter, banana and oats all whizzed together with yogurt, milk and honey, yum!

Recipe

1/2 banana
3 large tbsp peanut butter (I used crunchy but I’m sure it’d work with smooth)
3 large tbsp oats
3 large tbsp Greek style yogurt
275ml milk
A few ice cubes
Honey to taste (I think I used 1 1/2 tbsp)

Do you drink smoothies? What’s your favourite recipe?

Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

