‘Simple’ St Patrick’s Day Nail Art

I wanted to tip my hat (top o’the morning to ya!) to tomorrow’s holiday without going totally overboard with green nails, as I’d already painted my nails green the last time I did them, so I decided to just have an accent nail.

It was only meant to be a simple little gem thingy, so I thought I could freestyle it – who the heck did I think I was? I haven’t played much with nail gems recently so it took a bit of getting used to again, and I’ll admit I did scratch them all off and do it over (blame the perfectionist in me).

First I buffed my nails because they are recovering from a long stint with acrylics.*
20130316-190515.jpg

I coated them with a base coat of Nail Envy by OPI, followed by two coats of Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine polish in “Prickly Pear” (a lovely pastel lilac that I’m absolutely smitten by with!)

20130316-190714.jpg

To give them a St Paddy’s vibe I tried to make a four leaf clover/shamrock out of green gems… You may need to squint your eye to see it, lol!

20130316-190830.jpg

I started with a gold gem in the middle, then used three gems in a triangle formation to form each petal. I finished by using two black gems as the ‘stalk’. (I forgot I was meant to be taking step by step photos due to my frustrations, forgive me!)

I then topped the lot with Seche Vite quick drying top coat.
20130316-190845.jpg
Voila!

* I had pointy acrylic claw-style nails a lá Beyonce, Rihanna et al for about 6 months, but I fell a bit behind in getting them infilled when I moved to Chile so they became really fragile. I was sad to see them go, but I do get to have a bit more fun with nail art on my natural nails – I never wanted to paint over all the cool acrylic effects (including cracked shells and glitter within the acrylic) my wonderful nail technician Michelle had done!

4 comments

  1. Edgardo · August 9, 2013

    Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? With thanks

    • MizzBusby · August 10, 2013

      Hey Edgardo,
      It’s definitely not difficult to start a blog but maintaining one takes a lot of time and energy. I’d hardly call my blog established, cos I don’t post as regularly as I’d like to!
      To start your own, I’d first think of what you want to blog about and a quirky name. Then just start writing!

  2. Знакомства Муром · August 16, 2013

    excellent issues altogether, you simply won a new reader.
    What could you recommend about your publish that you
    simply made some days ago? Any certain?

  3. Cedric · August 20, 2013

    My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different page
    and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to exploring your web page for a second time.

Leave a Reply

