Catching-up with My Makeup Life Story

 

If there is one thing I love, it has got to be makeup. Something about being able to express my creativity on my face just fills me with joy and inspiration! I admire those bloggers out there who keep me up to date with the latest releases and products, and conduct honest reviews, and generally just feed my addiction to all things cosmetic.

When it came to blogging about my love for makeup, I had no idea where to start, so when I stumbled across the 30 Day Makeup Challenge on Tumblr, I thought it’d be a nice way to get us all up to speed with my makeup history and maybe even help me figure out where my love for makeup comes from. I did intend to start posting on the 1st of December, and then the 2nd so that we could end on NYE, but life (and sleep) got in the way, so hopefully I’ll do extra posts some days and then we can still end on time!

So here goes.

Day 1

When did you start wearing makeup?

My first memories of makeup are from a very young age. There are (real) photographs somewhere of me, getting dressed for primary school, wearing bright red lipstick. There were even instances where I would put eyeshadow on for school, and my mom wouldn’t notice until she parked in the school yard and looked over to give me a kiss before saying goodbye. At this point, I’d have to rub it off, and I was genuinely put out. Even earlier than this I can remember stealing my mom’s Clinique mascara and hiding it in my church handbag! I didn’t know what it did, but I wanted to try it.

Despite these young experiments with makeup I would say I first started wearing makeup in 2007, when I went to New York. I already had a MAC Studio Fix compact, but I didn’t really know what to do with it. But while I was in New York I was introduced to concealer. Finally makeup made sense! Previously the powder would just give me a dull cover without really covering my blemishes, but with concealer (and a quick teach from a flamboyant male MAC assistant) I could achieve (what I thought was)

an even skintone, which became the base for many, many years of experimenting.

 

 

Leave a Reply

